I have teh nintendo!
Dec. 29th, 2018 09:06 amInterestingly this wasn't entirely an impulse buy. I saw on twitter, the twitterings of a new pokemon game and I really like things like animal crossing. It was one of those inevitable things. Plus everyone's breath of the wild stuff made me feel nostalgic for Ocarina of Time, which is the only zelda I've actually played through. My brother bought himself a much larger tv for his room a few months ago and kind of put the old one out of his room. Turns out it is exactly the same as my second monitor, but BIGGER (which was also a discard from a friend). I was concerned it wouldn't fit on my desk, which while large, has shelves. It literally just clears the bottom of the shelf with no space. Magic! Then little anime hearts fell out of my face while I stared at it. I also continued to clean my room !?!?!!!! It was great.
How to tell you're an adult: You just bought a new game system and haven't had a chance to play anything on it because WORK. So you get home, make some dinner, chat with people, make chocolate mousse... consider baking a cake and then remember! Bring your laundry upstairs to your room, fiddle with the setup, go down stairs for 2nd trip to get work bag and birb (hello birb). Go up stairs... take a shower. FINALLY PLAY THE GAME.
Pretty sure an actual 12 year old would have died crying.
The chocolate mousse
1 brick (12-16oz) extra-firm tofu*
2 tbsp maple syrup (I used 4...)
1/4c soy milk**
1 tsp vanilla extract
1c melted chocolate chips
Drain the tofu and put the tofu, maple syrup, soymilk, and vanilla extract in a blender. BLEND!
Melt the chips separately. If you're using a microwave heat the chips in short bursts stirring in between so it doesn't burn. If you're using a double boiler...wtf do you like washing dishes? Double boiler is the traditional way to make melted chocolate things and gives you a greater deal of control over the temperature of your chocolate. I barely know how to use this, and don't even own one(set?) so if you are using this I suggest looking it up.
If your chips are super hot, give them a second to cool down to ...warm. Add to the tofu-mix. Blend!
Refrigerate for at least an hour. I like overnight. But then I also like to just eat this vs. putting it on cupcakes so whatever works.
It's good, though slightly bitter? Not sure where that's coming from unless it's cause I used semi-sweet chips.
*It sounds like the shelf stable ones have a finer texture vs the refrigerated varieties. I'm just use to picking up refrigerated stuff BUT shelf stable means you can keep them on hand for whenever! BAM it's mousse!
**I used water because my soy milk was...chunky? So goodbye soymilk, hello water. The idea is that there is enough liquid to actually blend.